West Orlando News: Bipartisan Members of Congress Call on DHS Secretary to Address Antisemitism Nationwide

Florida Representative Ted Deutch and U.S. Representatives Brian Fitzpatrick, Brad Schneider, and Andrew Garbarino led 88 other Democratic and Republican Representatives in sending a letter to Secretary of Homeland Security Alejandro Mayorkas urging additional and urgent action to combat antisemitism and prosecute antisemitic hate crimes.

“Only by working together, across all branches and levels of government, across our country and throughout our society, can we address the many facets of antisemitism and ensure the safety and security of the American Jewish community,” Members write in the letter.

The Members reiterate their concern about the antisemitic threats the American Jewish community has faced across the country in recent years—from Pittsburgh to Poway, from Monsey to Jersey City, and from Lakewood to Colleyville. They ask Secretary Mayorkas to advocate for a comprehensive, whole-of-government strategy, led by the Department of Homeland Security, to specifically address the growing problem of domestic antisemitism.

The letter was signed by: Reps. Ted Deutch, Brian Fitzpatrick, Bradley Schneider, Andrew Garbarino, Jake Auchincloss, Don Bacon, Nanette Barragán, Ami Bera, Donald Beyer, Gus Bilirakis, Suzanne Bonamici, Brendan Boyle, Anthony Brown, Julia Brownley, Shontel Brown, Kathy Castor, David Cicilline, Steve Cohen, Gerald Connolly, Madeleine Dean, Suzan DelBene, Mark DeSaulnier, Byron Donalds, Michael Doyle, Anna Eshoo, Dwight Evans, Lois Frankel, Josh Gottheimer, Chrissy Houlahan, Jared Huffman, Bill Johnson, Mondaire Jones, David Joyce, Marcy Kaptur, Mike Kelly, Derek Kilmer, Young Kim, Raja Krishnamoorthi, James Langevin, Brenda Lawrence, Barbara Lee, Susie Lee, Mike Levin, Ted Lieu, Alan Lowenthal, Elaine Luria, Stephen Lynch, Nancy Mace, Tom Malinowski, Carolyn Maloney, Kathy Manning, Lucy McBath, Betty McCollum, James McGovern, Peter Meijer, Grace Meng, Mariannette Miller-Meeks, Frank Mrvan, Jerrold Nadler, Joe Neguse, Eleanor Holmes Norton, Frank Pallone, Jimmy Panetta, Chris Pappas, Donald Payne, Scott Peters, Dean Phillips, Jamie Raskin, Kathleen Rice, Linda Sánchez, John Sarbanes, Mary Gay Scanlon, Janice Schakowsky, Kim Schrier, David Scott, Brad Sherman, Elissa Slotkin, Haley Stevens, Marilyn Strickland, Thomas Suozzi, Mike Thompson, William Timmons, Dina Titus, Lori Trahan, David Trone, Juan Vargas, Marc Veasey, Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Bonnie Watson Coleman, Susan Wild, Frederica Wilson, and John Yarmuth.